| |
Library Databases
|
Magazines and Newspapers
- EBSCOhost -- Full-text databases:
- General magazine and newspapers
- HealthSource
- MagillOnLiterature (for literary criticism)
- Novelist (for literature recommendations)
- Searchasaurus for grades K-8
- Magazines for middle-school students
- ProQuest -- Full-text databases:
- Proquest Research Library -- full collection of journals, magazines and newspapers for information on a broad range of general reference subjects.
- Proquest Newspapers -- coverage of 9 major U.S. newspapers including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, Christian Science Monitor, USA TODAY, the Boston Globe, and the Atlanta Journal/Constitution; the Los Angeles Times and the Chicago Tribune are also included but must be selected separately per publisher agreement.
- Historical New York Times
The New York Times (1851-2001) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- Newspaper Archives
This database includes The Star-Ledger, The Times of Trenton, The Jersey Journal, The Express-Times, the Hunterdon County Democrat, and NJN Publishing.
- Custom Newspapers
A collection of more than 120 cover-to-cover newspapers from around the world plus an additional 280 sources of selected news and business coverage New York Times. Covered newspapers include, among others, The Star-Ledger (Newark), The Bergen Record, Los Angeles Times, and The Times (London).
- Informe
Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.
Research
- Automotive Repair Reference Center -- Contains information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, with repair
information for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1945. Database content includes over 205,000 drawings and step-by-step
photographs; approximately 75,000 technical service bulletins and recalls issued by the original
equipment vehicle manufacturer; and much more. New repair procedures and updates are added continuously. All content in
the database has been created by ASE-certified technicians.
- ReferenceUSA
- Business Database -- 12 million U.S. businesses
- Residential Database -- 120 million U.S. households
- Health Care Database -- 650,000 physicians and dentists
- Canadian Business Database -- 1.3 million Canadian businesses
- Canadian Residential Dabase -- 12 million Canadian households
- ERIC
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
- Facts On File -- Focused on grades 4-12
Science, history, curriculum resources, geography, health, career, and forms.
- Searchasaurus -- For grades K-8
The visual search interface of this database makes online searching easier for younger researchers.
- Student Resource Center -- For grades 1-12
This database covers a wide variety of topics, and searches can be restricted by grade (using, for instance, "g1").
- Web Feet -- For grades 1-12
A comprehensive subject guide to the best free resources available on the Internet.
- Ancestry Library Online -- This extensive collection of genealogical information includes the U.S. and U.K. censuses, passenger lists, and much more. It can only be accessed through the computers at the Library.
- HeritageQuest Online --
This genealogical database, which includes the U.S. censuses and family and local histories, is available for use at home.
NOTE: For more resources for genealogical research, click here.
Literature
- Literary
Reference Center
A comprehensive, full-text database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of
authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Literary Reference Center combines
information from major respected reference works including Magill's, books, and literary journals, as well as original
content from EBSCO Publishing.
- Bloom's Literary Reference Online (click, then scroll down)
This extensive literature collection includes hundreds of essays by renowned literary critic Harold Bloom,
which examine the lives and works of great writers throughout history and the world. The database also
contains an archive of more than 38,000 characters and extensive entries on literary topics, themes, movements,
and genres.
- NoveList
Plot descriptions, reviews, and much more for over 125,000 fiction titles. It also includes other content of interest to fiction readers, such as author read-alikes, book discussion guides, and annotated book lists.
- Contemporary Authors
Biographical details on approximately 116,000 modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists, and scriptwriters. Current writers, as well as the most-studied literary figures of the early 20th century, and authors from around the world are featured. To access, click here, then click "Clear Checkmarks," scroll down to Literature and check Contemporary Authors, then enter your search at the top of the page. Searches work best if Author/Creator field is
selected from the Search drop-down list.
Back to top
|
|
|